Leave a comment

My Daughter’s Sick

I’m really concerned.

Adrianna is telling me she doesn’t feel well, and I think it might be some sort of delayed allergic reaction to whatever bit her. Weirdest thing though – the swelling’s gone down on her arm, and the little red bumps are going away, but she keeps telling me she feels crawly and itchy. I took her to the doctor this morning, but they can’t pinpoint anything wrong with her. As far as they know, she got bit up by fire ants and the itching is completely normal. All they can do is tell me to keep giving her antihistamines for the itching, and let her get some bed rest.

But that’s just it. Adrianna can’t get any rest – she keeps telling me she’s having nightmares. Just this afternoon after I put her down for her nap, she came back fifteen minutes later and told me she couldn’t sleep.

“What’s wrong, honey?” I asked her, bringing her into my lap as she climbed onto the couch.

“I had a bad dream,” she said, wrapping her tiny arms around me.

“Aww, sweetheart, you want to talk about it, darlin’?”

“There were spiders,” She whimpered, burying her face into my chest. “They were big. They were biting me. They wanted to bite you. It was scary.”

“Shh, hon, it’s okay,” I murmured, tousling her hair and holding her close. “They aren’t going to bite me. Promise.”

I’m concerned. I’m guessing the itching is keeping her awake, but I’m just not sure in regards to the nightmares. Maybe she has fire ants confused for spiders or something, it’s not like she knows what bit her. I’m just hoping she’s alright.

I did a spray for pests in my cactus garden today as well. So far, so good, but my house is starting to get some cobwebs in the corners. Gonna have to be more on top of cleaning.

Leave a comment